Community Calendar

Thursday, Aug. 16
• Burlingame Farmer’s Market, 2 to 6 p.m.
• Osage City High School red and white football scrimmage, 5:30 p.m., Osage City stadium and barbeque and work auction fundraiser 6:30 p.m., Osage City Community Building.

Saturday, Aug. 18
• Meeting, 8 a.m., Overbrook PRIDE, American Legion Post No. 239, 102 Maple, Overbrook.
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.
• Book reading "I Love You Bigger Than the World" by children's book author Anna Hefley, 10 a.m., Lyndon Carnegie Library.
• Free Swim, Overbrook Swimming Pool.
• Gospel singing 4 p.m. at Lincoln Park, Osage City, sponsored by the Lyndon Amish Mennonite Church.
• Taco supper, baked potato bar, silent auction 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at Melvern Community Center to benefit Melvern Riverfront Park and Trails. For more information, call Joyce Lacey at (785) 549-3335 or Roxie Bush at (785) 549-3450.

Sunday, Aug. 19
• Picnic and ice cream social, 4 to 8 p.m., Grace Community Church, Overbrook.

Tuesday, August 21
• Auburn Farmer’s Market, Noon to 6 p.m., Presbyterian Church parking lot.

Wednesday, August 22
• Carbondale Farmers Market 4 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Carbondale City Park.
• "Protecting Children Against Sexual Abuse", ages 18 and older only, 6 to 8 p.m., Grace Community Church, Overbrook.

Thursday, Aug. 23
• Friends and family of Sandra Thurman and the Pilcrow Foundation's new book open house, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 2 to 6 p.m., Lyndon Carnegie Library.

Saturday, Aug. 25
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.
• Nick Stoppel to play in concert 7:30 p.m. at Osage City High School auditorium. Freewill donations accepted.

Tuesday August 28
• Auburn Farmer’s Market, Noon to 6 p.m., Presbyterian Church parking lot.
• Meeting, Friends of the Library, 6:30 p.m., Conference Room, Overbrook Public Library.

Wednesday, August 29
• Carbondale Farmers Market 4 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Carbondale City Park.
• Adult sewing with Lynnie, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., Lyndon Carnegie Library.

Saturday, Sept. 1
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.
• Burlingame Redneck Days, activities will include children activities, vendors, downhill derby and other activities throughout the day.
• Melvern Endurance Race 8 a.m. at Melvern Riverfront Park and Trails. For more information, call Jeff Patterson at (785) 418-2531, or japatterson20@yahoo.com, or visit www.webscorer.com/register?raceid+145117.

Monday, September 3
• Free swim day. Burlingame swimming pool.

Tuesday, Sept. 4
• Auburn Farmer’s Market, Noon to 6 p.m., Presbyterian Church parking lot.

Wednesday, Sept. 5
• Carbondale Farmers Market 4 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Carbondale City Park.

Thursday, Sept. 6
• Community senior citizens covered dish meeting, noon at Osage City Community Building. Osage County Senior Center bus will pick up any Osage City citizens needing a ride. Call Barbara Janes at (785) 528-3989. Entertainment by Sherrnies.

Saturday, Sept. 8
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.
• Melvern UMW penny lunch 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at Melvern United Methodist Church basement.
• Children's fishing derby, registration 1 p.m., derby 1:30 p.m. Overbrook Children's Fishing Lake.

Sunday, Sept. 9
• Osage City Lions Club golf tournament 8:30 p.m. at Osage City Golf Course. For more information, call (785) 528-3329.

Tuesday, Sept. 11
• Auburn Farmer’s Market, Noon to 6 p.m., Presbyterian Church parking lot.

Wednesday, Sept. 12
• Carbondale Farmers Market 4 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Carbondale City Park.

Friday, Sept. 14
• Osage City citywide garage sale. For more information call (785) 528-5095.

Saturday, Sept. 15
• Osage City citywide garage sale. For more information call (785) 528-5095.
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.

Tuesday, Sept. 18
• Auburn Farmer’s Market, Noon to 6 p.m., Presbyterian Church parking lot.
• Tuesday Table, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m., United Methodist Church, Overbrook.

Wednesday, Sept. 19
• Carbondale Farmers Market 4 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Carbondale City Park.

Saturday, Sept. 22
• Scranton Fall Festival, more information to come.
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.

Tuesday, Sept. 25
• Auburn Farmer’s Market, Noon to 6 p.m., Presbyterian Church parking lot.

Wednesday, Sept. 26
• Carbondale Farmers Market 4 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Carbondale City Park.

Thursday, Oct. 4
• Community senior citizens covered dish meeting, noon at Osage City Community Building. Osage County Senior Center bus will pick up any Osage City citizens needing a ride. Call Barbara Janes at (785) 528-3989. Entertainment by Larry and Judy Maddex.

Saturday, Oct. 6
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.

Saturday, Oct. 13
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.

Tuesday, Oct. 16
• Tuesday Table, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m., United Methodist Church, Overbrook.

Saturday, Oct. 20
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.

Saturday, Oct. 27
• Mennonite bake sale, 8 a.m., parking lot of Osage Custom Meats, 1039 W. Highway 31, Osage City.

Wednesday, Oct. 31
• Trunk or Treat, Overbrook City Lake. (More information to come.)

Thursday, Nov. 1
• Community senior citizens covered dish meeting, noon at Osage City Community Building. Osage County Senior Center bus will pick up any Osage City citizens needing a ride. Call Barbara Janes at (785) 528-3989. Entertainment by Gary and Elsie.

Sunday, Nov. 4
• Daylight Savings Time ends, set clocks back one hour.

Thursday, Dec. 6
• Community senior citizens covered dish meeting, noon at Osage City Community Building. Osage County Senior Center bus will pick up any Osage City citizens needing a ride. Call Barbara Janes at (785) 528-3989. Entertainment by Ro M. and Dick D.

Community calendar items may be submitted to ochcnews@gmail.com, faxed to (785) 528-4811, called in to (785) 528-3511, mailed to P.O. Box 266, Osage City, KS 66523, or dropped off at 527 Market St., Osage City.

Advertisement

The Osage County Herald-Chronicle

The official newspaper of Osage County; the cities of Burlingame, Carbondale, Lyndon, Melvern, Olivet, Osage City, Overbrook, Quenemo and Scranton; Burlingame USD 454, Lyndon USD 421, Marais des Cygnes Valley USD 456, Osage City USD 420 and Santa Fe Trail USD 434.

All content @1863-2016 Osage County Herald-Chronicle, unless otherwise stated.

Print edition published every Thursday.

 

Contact Us